Kimono

This is a kimono-style dressing gown/robe that I made last year. I didn’t wear it because the neckline didn’t fit correctly, so I only just got around to taking it apart and fixing it (so now it’s not strictly kimono-style because it has a pleat at the back of the neck). Not much to say about it; polyester charmeuse, French seams, hand-detailed shawl collar and cuffs.

black kimono-style short robe with a teal, cream and salmon floral pattern

I used this tutorial for sewing yukata as a loose guideline, although my construction was Westernized, for example the robe is shorter and I used wider fabric.

I really do like this fabric.

black satin fabric with a butterfly and chrysanthemum in salmon and teal

Leave a Reply

